news

It's Baaaack! If You See The Facebook Privacy Hoax, Don't Fall For It - Again.

The privacy hoax is back and now major news broadcasters are warning Facebook users to stop sharing it.

Not because it's dangerous, but because it's really, really annoying.

It's not new. In fact, it's been around since 2012. Why do we keep falling for it? Probably because no one actually takes the time to investigate whether or not a thing on the internet is true. Basically, we see that our friend has posted this urgent sounding deadline with seemingly legal sounding words that make it official. We worry that if we don't do the same, all of our private messages and photos will be made public.

We might hesitate, but then think that it's better to be on the safe side, so we post it anyway.

The language might change, but the message is generally the same:

Deadline tomorrow !!! Everything you've ever posted becomes public from tomorrow. Even messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. It costs nothing for a simple copy and paste, better safe than sorry. Channel 13 News talked about the change in Facebook's privacy policy. I do not give Facebook or any entities associated with Facebook permission to use my pictures, information, messages or posts, both past and future. With this statement, I give notice to Facebook it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile and/or its contents. The content of this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308- 1 1 308-103 and the Rome Statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish a statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as the information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. Copy and paste.

Snopes.com, a myth-busting site investigated and disproved the Facebook Privacy Notice in 2012, and again earlier this week. The verdict: it's still a hoax.

  • Facebook addressed the issue in their blog post in 2012. We don't read the terms agreements, mostly because it's long and boring, but here's the gist:
  • You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook.
  • You can control how it is shared through your privacy and application settings.
  • Users who post content that is covered by intellectual property rights (photos, videos) give permission to Facebook to non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide license to use any content that you post on or in connection with Facebook.
  • This permission ends when you delete your content or your account.

Sharing the hoax does not cancel out Facebook's access to our content since we consented to it when we agreed to the Terms of Service.

So, the next time you see this - do all Facebook users a favor, educate your friend and, please don't re-post.

Are you seeing the Facebook Privacy Notice hoax on your newsfeed? Pass this on! Like & Share

Related Articles