New Perspectives | Quizzes

Take This Quiz To Find Out What Your Love Language Says About You


Have you ever heard of the five love languages? Gary Chapman's book The Five Love Languages explores the theory that everyone has primary way in which they feel most loved. Most people have a secondary language as well, and oftentimes the language we express to others isn't the same as the one we need to receive from others.

The love languages are:

  • Quality time
  • Gift giving
  • Words of affirmation
  • Physical touch
  • Acts of service
Dr. Christiane Northrup

According to Dr. Chapman's book, one of the biggest problems with finding true love and intimacy with a partner is the fact that they don't express love in the way you need to feel it.

But there's no need to despair! Your relationship is not doomed just because your partner isn't inclined towards the same love language as you. However, it's important to discover your love language so you can better understand yourself and communicate those needs to family, friends, or a romantic partner.

Nurturing Marriage

If someone understands how to make you feel most loved, they can learn how with patience and practice. After all, true love takes work if it's going to last a lifetime!


Some facts about the love languages might surprise you. For example, some people assume physical touch is a love language only relating to sex. Although sex is included in the physical touch realm, there are many ways to show affection through non-sexual contact. Hugs, a light touch on the arm, back rubs - all of these show affection and can be shared by friends and family members.

The Mindful Word

Gift giving and acts of service may seem like the same love language, but there's important differences between the two. For one thing, acts of service is often more practical. If a person is practicing the love language of acts of service, he or she will notice a need to be filled or chore to be done, and put extra care into doing it out of love for another. Although all love languages are based in self-sacrifice, acts of service arguably requires a higher level of it.

Do you know your love language? Take this quiz to find out!

Leave us a comment below with your love language and SHARE this post with your friends so they can discover theirs!